Skip to content
January 2, 2011 / The Promiscuous Reader

Getting over an Eeyore kind of day

You know those days when you wake up and just feel like raging at the world.  That was me…nearly all day long.  Of course I could blame it on the short, freezing gray day.  But really it had more to do with the fact that work resumes tomorrow, and with it all the demands, pressures and over-scheduling stress that comes with it.  So after a good couple of hours slamming the dryer door shut and cursing my lot in life as house laundress and snarling at the cat for sitting there so lazily on the sofa while I had to work and took a deep breath and thought…what do I want right now?

First on the list…a nice cup of Calm tea.  Then, a short marathon (we’ll call it a 5k, really) of old 30Rock episodes on Netflix and finally a curl up in bed with The Wolves of Andover.  I’m not especially loving this book, it’s a bit heavy-handed with the whole theme of “wolves”.  I also thought that highlighting the cruel children near Salem in the 1600s was also over the top.  I understand that the author, Kathleen Kent, is writing about her ancestors and clearly feels some connection to the wrongs caused them, it just felt too manipulative.

It does make me think, however, that I would like to write something about my ancestor’s story.  We aren’t all descended from Salem witches, but even a couple of immigrants from Ireland making their way out West have a story to tell.  That, however, will have to wait until after I fold the last load of laundry, sneer at the cat again and make myself another cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

