Skip to content
August 8, 2011 / The Promiscuous Reader

The Final Countdown…to the big 40

Okay, so in less than a year, I’ll be turning 40.  Obviously this is a bit of a milestone, although the Final Countdown reference is a bit tongue-in-cheek.  Anyway,  I had seen this website: 365til30, which essentially is a countdown to the not quite as big 30.  I thought it would be a great idea to get this blog up and running again and kind of think through things, catalog what I’m reading and doing during this last year of my thirties.

First of all, this year I’m trying out yoga.  I’ve done yoga before…but since I now have to admit that it was 20 years ago (!), I’m essentially back to square one.  I signed up for a 6 week beginner series.  I’m no jock, so my main priority in all this is to be nice to myself.  I don’t have to have the tallest, straightest tree in the room…I just have to be able to walk the next morning.

I’m continuing to eat Paleo.  At the beginning of the year I was a good 25 pounds overweight (god how I hate even typing that!), but over the last 8 months I’ve lost it and kept it off.  I want to lose another 5-10 pounds and then we’ll call it good.  If this is something new for you, check out this book by Gary Taubes.  It lays out the argument against sugar and flour very clearly and convincingly and if you have been creeping up in the weight department this book illustrates why and what to do about it very concisely.

That’s all for now on the subject, though I’m sure more will be cropping up as the year goes by.

Leave a Reply

