Skip to content
June 8, 2013 / The Promiscuous Reader

The Devil is in the Details

The-Devil-in-the-White-City-by-Erik-Larson-Book-Cover-960x1459

So I had started The Devil in the White City two years ago, just shortly after I finished reading Erik Larson’s great book about intrigue in pre-World War II Berlin, In the Garden of Beasts.  I just couldn’t get into it.  I’m not sure if it was the period or if the format was just a little different than what I was expecting, but I read maybe two or three chapters and returned it to the library.

This past weekend, as I was browsing the library’s Kindle collection and desperately looking for something to justify the massive procrastination that lay ahead with grades due on Wednesday I saw this title and added it to my cart.  So glad I did!  I finished it in a day and a half and loved it.

I am loathe to say it but I think my obsession with Downton Abbey, may have played no small part in my attraction to the book this time.  The construction of the World’s Columbian Exposition just pre-dates the first episode of DA by a couple of decades, but does capture some of the grandeur (as well as some of the desperate-to-be-grand sensibilities) of the time.  On the flip side, the story about H.H. Holmes adds a sinister and suspenseful element to a story that might otherwise get bogged down in too many details about cornices, window panes and alternating current electricity (can you tell I’m not at all technically-minded?).

At any rate, it was a great book to dive into this season of reading!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Stephanie Whittle / Jun 17 2013 2:15 pm

    Love your blog Senora! Devil in the White City is one of my all time favorites. So glad you gave it another try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

