Skip to content
June 13, 2013 / The Promiscuous Reader

Late Hours

gladdestthing.com/poems/late-hours

gladdestthing.com/poems/late-hours

As I embark on another summer of luxuriating in the joys of reading and allowing myself to become so wrapped up in a fictional character’s life that I practically call it my own, I am reminded of this spare, beautiful poem by Lisel Mueller.  The title, Late Hours, is perfect for these lazy summer days of long hours of sunlight during which I am able not to worry about the alarm ringing me awake the next morning.  Naturally, I don’t remember how I even came across it, but, for me those last few lines really capture the feeling of fortune we should have to spend our days reading.

Leave a Reply

